Mandy’s story

I bummed out of school at 16 for many reasons and at 26 decided to return to education (1999). I had an interview for an access to HE in IT course and was refused (despite having 10 GCSEs) because I didn’t have any experience of computers.

Undeterred, I went to my local public library, found a book on Clait and used the single computer to teach myself how to do basic word processing, spreadsheets and email. I took this back to college as evidence and gained a place on the course. It led to a degree in Business Information Systems, and 10 years on I’m Head of Business and Information Systems at Liverpool John Moores University.

The public library (Birkdale branch library in Sefton) gave me the resources and the opportunity to apply myself, had it not been there, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Leave a comment